New NASS Committee Co-Chairs

For Immediate Release — August 21, 2020 — Washington, D.C. — The National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) is pleased to announce the new NASS Committee Co-Chair appointments for 2020-2021.

“I am both excited and honored to appoint my bipartisan colleagues to these committee posts. I have full faith they will help wisely guide the association on these important top­ics, and I look forward to working with each one of them over this coming year,” said NASS President and New Mexico Secretary of State Maggie Toulouse Oliver.

NASS 2020-2021 Committee Co-Chair Appointments:

Awards: Hon. Denise Merrill, Connecticut and Hon. Al Jaeger, North Dakota

Business Services: Hon. Jay Ashcroft, Missouri and Hon. Kathy Boockvar, Pennsylvania

Corporate Affiliate Advisory: Hon. R. Kyle Ardoin, Louisiana and Hon. Maggie Toulouse Oliver, New Mexico

Cybersecurity:  Hon. Paul Pate, Iowa and Hon. Maggie Toulouse Oliver, New Mexico

Elections: Hon. Jocelyn Benson, Michigan and Hon. Frank LaRose, Ohio

International Relations: Hon. Kimberly Bassett, Washington, D.C. and Hon. Mac Warner, West Virginia

Nominations & Credentials: Hon. Paul Pate, Iowa, Hon. R. Kyle Ardoin, Louisiana, Hon. Maggie Toulouse Oliver, New Mexico

Securities: Hon. Barbara Cegavske, Nevada and Hon. Elaine Marshall, North Carolina

State Heritage: Hon. Alex Padilla, California and Hon. Kim Wyman, Washington

Committee Co-Chairs will serve a one-year term, ending July 2021.

Other NASS Appointments:

U.S. Election Assistance Commission (EAC) Board of Advisors: Hon. Paul Pate, Iowa and Hon. Jim Condos, Vermont

Uniform Law Commission (ULC) Advisory Committee: Hon. Elaine Marshall, North Caroli­na

Council of State Governments (CSG) Representatives: Hon. Paul Pate, Iowa and Hon. Steve Simon, Minnesota (serving until Jan. 2021)

#   #   #

Media Contact:
Maria Benson, Director of Communications | 202-624-3528 |