Constitution of the National Association of Secretaries of State

As Amended July 12, 2023


The name of the organization shall be the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS.)


The aims and purposes of the Association, the oldest national organization of major public officials, are to disseminate and exchange information among its members their duties, responsibilities, methods of operation, suggestions and proposals for improvement in their respective offices thought mutually beneficial to themselves, their states, and the nation.


The role of Secretary of State is a noble calling and carries a high ethical mandate and a conscientious duty to our democracy. Accordingly, the Association members commit to the following:

1. Adhering to the highest standards of excellence that will nurture and maintain the public trust;

2. Placing loyalty to state and federal constitutions, the law, and ethical principles above private or political gain; and

3. For those Secretaries who are the chief elections officials in their state, practicing fair and unbiased election administration that recognizes each eligible citizen's right to cast his or her vote and for that vote to be counted with the highest regard to constitutional foundations.


Section 1. VOTING MEMBER - The membership of the National Association of Secretaries of State shall include the dues paying Secretaries of State and Lieutenant Governors or other state officials who act as Secretaries of State in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the territories of the United States of America.

Section 2. EMERITUS MEMBER - Non-voting Emeritus membership in the National Association of Secretaries of State shall also be available to those who have served in the capacity of Secretary of State and Lieutenant Governor in the jurisdictions belonging to this Association.

Section 3. AFFILIATE STATUS - A corporate entity that wishes to participate in the functions of the Association may apply for affiliate status. Provided, however, that no such affiliate may use this status for promotional purposes without the express permission of the Executive Board.


The officers of this Association shall consist of a President, a President-elect, Secretary, Treasurer, and a Vice President from each NASS region, all of whom shall be Secretaries of State, Lieutenant Governors, or other state officials who act as Secretaries of State of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and territories of the United States of America. The NASS President shall appoint two At-Large Members. All officers must come from NASS members who have paid current dues.


The Executive Board shall be composed of the Immediate Past-president, President, President-elect, Treasurer, Secretary, Vice President from each NASS region, and two At-Large members. The President of the Association shall be the Chair. The Executive Board shall have the general management and control of the business and direction of this Association under its By-Laws and shall approve expenditures of funds. The two At-Large members will function as liaisons and representatives of the two subsections of NASS: the Notary Public Administrators section (NPA) and the Administrative Codes and Registers section (ACR).


The Executive Board shall appoint such substantive standing committees and operational standing committees as may be required. The proceedings of all committees shall be open to all members or their designated deputies.

Executive Board
Standing Committee on International Relations
Standing Committee on Business Services
Standing Committee on Elections
Standing Committee on Cybersecurity
Standing Committee on Securities

Standing Committee on Nominations and Credentials
State Records and Archives Committee


For purposes of representation on the Executive Board, the membership is divided into four regions. The four regions and the states and territories in each region are:

Eastern Region:  Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, Vermont, and the Virgin Islands;

Southern Region:   Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, and the District of Columbia;

Mid-Western Region:  Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin; and,

Western Region:  Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, American Samoa, and Guam.



Related Links