NASS Inducts Vermont Secretary of State Jim Condos as President

For Immediate Release — July 16, 2018 —

Washington, D.C. — The National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) has inducted Vermont Secretary of State Jim Condos as president of the association, the nation's oldest nonpartisan professional organization for state officials. He will serve a one year-term ending July 2019.

"I would like to thank my peers for their confidence to lead this association, especially as we ap­proach a much-anticipated election cycle," said Condos, who was sworn into office Monday, Ju­ly 16 at the NASS 2018 Summer Conference in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. "We have a lot of work to do and I look forward to hitting the ground running and collaborating with my col­leagues."

As a member of NASS, Condos has been very active in voter participation and election cyber­security issues. In addition, he has testified before the
U.S. Senate Select Committee on Intelli­gence and the U.S. Senate Rules & Administration Committee on behalf of NASS to discuss what states are doing to secure elections from cyber threats and attacks.

Condos has served as Vermont's Secretary of State since January 2011 and is the fourth Ver­mont official to lead NASS as president since its founding in 1904. Vermonters who previously held the post of president are: Deborah Markowitz (2006-2007), James H. Douglas (1986-1987), and Howard E. Armstrong (1956-1957).

Also elected at the annual NASS meeting are the following Executive Board members, who serve a one-year term, ending July 2019:

President: Hon. Jim Condos, Vermont
Immediate Past President: Hon. Connie Lawson, Indiana
President-elect: Hon. Paul Pate, Iowa
Treasurer: Hon. Maggie Toulouse Oliver, New Mexico
Secretary: Hon. Steve Simon, Minnesota

Eastern Region Vice-President:
Hon Denise Merrill, Connecticut
Southern Region Vice-President: Hon. Tre Hargett, Tennessee
Midwestern Region Vice-President: Hon. Jay Ashcroft, Missouri
Western Region Vice-President: Hon. Alex Padilla, California

Member-at-Large (NPA Section): Hon. Wayne Williams, Colorado
Member-at-Large (ACR Section): Hon. Matt Dunlap, Maine


In addition, new committee co-chair assignments and appointments have been made:

Nominations & Credentials: Hon. Jim Condos, Vermont, Hon. Connie Lawson, Indiana and Hon. Denise Merrill, Connecticut

Corporate Affiliate: Hon. Paul Pate, Iowa and Hon. Jim Condos, Vermont

Awards/Publications: Hon. Al Jaeger, North Dakota and Hon. Bill Gardner, New Hampshire

Business Services: Hon. Jeff Bullock, Delaware and Hon. Mark Hammond, South Carolina

Elections Committee: Hon. Nellie Gorbea, Rhode Island and Hon. Kim Wyman, Washington   

International Relations: Hon. Lauren Vaughan, D.C. and Hon. Luis Rivera Marin, Puerto Rico

State Heritage:Hon. Tahesha Way, New Jersey and Hon. Michele Reagan, Arizona

Securities: Hon. Bill Galvin, Massachusetts and Hon. Barbara Cegavske, Nevada

Cybersecurity (NEW): Hon. Jim Condos, Vermont and Hon. Connie Lawson, Indiana

EAC Board of Advisors: Hon. Jim Condos, Vermont and Hon. Connie Lawson, Indiana

ULC Advisory Committee: Hon. Elaine Marshall, North Carolina


#   #   #

Media Contact:
Maria (Dill) Benson, Director of Communications | 202-624-3528 |