NASS Membership Updates

For Immediate Release March 6, 2018

Washington, D.C. The National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) welcomes Wyoming Secretary of State Edward Buchanan. Wyoming Governor Matt Mead appointed Buchanan on March 1, 2018 and he was sworn in on March 5, 2018 to replace former Wyoming Secretary of State Ed Murray. Murray resigned from his position on Feb. 9, 2018.

Secretary Buchanan is the former Speaker of the Wyoming House of Representatives, an attorney and a U.S. Air Force veteran.

In addition, Idaho Secretary of State Lawerence Denney has been installed as the Western Region Vice President.  Denney steps into the national officer's spot previously held by former Wyoming Secretary of State Ed Murray.

"We welcome Secretary Buchanan to the National Association of Secretaries of State. This organization strives for collaboration on important policies on the state and national levels, and I believe Secretary Buchanan will make a great addition," said NASS President Connie Lawson, Indiana Secretary of State. "I am also pleased Secretary Denney has accepted to join the Executive Board, he will be a strong advocate on issues that are of interest to the Western region and our membership as a whole.”

With the appointment of Denney, the NASS Executive Board now includes the following officers:

NASS President - Hon. Connie Lawson, IN
President Elect - Hon. Jim Condos, VT
Treasurer - Hon. Paul Pate, IA
Secretary - Hon. Wayne Williams, CO
Past President - Hon. Denise Merrill, CT
Eastern Region Vice President - Hon. Nellie Gorbea, RI
Southern Region Vice President - Hon. John Merrill, AL
Midwestern Region Vice President - Hon. Steve Simon, MN
Western Region Vice President - Hon. Lawerence Denney, ID
Member at Large (ACR Liaison) - Hon. Matt Dunlap, ME
Member at Large (NPA Liaison) - Hon. Barbara Cegavske, NV

Click here for NASS membership and here for more information on NASS committees.


#   #   #

Media Contact:
Maria (Dill) Benson, Director of Communications | 202-624-3528 |


Founded in 1904, NASS is the oldest, nonpartisan professional organization of public officials in the U.S. Membership is open to the 50 states and all U.S. territories. NASS serves as a medium for the exchange of information between states and fosters cooperation in the development of public policy.