NASS 2024 Winter Conference


Event Agenda:

Agenda is subject to change. Committee meetings and sessions are open to all attendees, unless otherwise noted. Sessions marked CLOSED and all evening events are not open to press/media. Business attire for all meetings and events. Valid conference ID badge is required for entry to ALL meetings and events. All meeting times are listed in Eastern time. There is no virtual option to attend. 

Feb 7th


9:00 AM - 12:00 PM ET

Election Infrastructure Government Coordinating Council (EIS-GCC) Meeting (Not a NASS Meeting)

2:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET

Expo/Demo Set-up

2:30 PM - 2:45 PM ET

Afternoon Break

2:45 PM - 3:45 PM ET

CLOSED SESSION - Secretaries-Only Meeting

2:45 PM - 3:45 PM ET

CLOSED SESSION – Communications Staff Roundtable

Social Media Discussion with Major Platforms:

  • Mr. David Lopez, Global Elections Lead, Government Affairs & Public Policy, Google

  • Ms. Eva Guidarini, Meta

  • Mr. Stephen Martinko, Public Policy, TikTok

  • Mr. Wifredo Fernandez, Global Government Affairs, X

  • Ms. Gabriela Castillo Madrid, Senior Public Policy Manager, X

  • Ms. Jasmine Vasquez, Government Affairs & Public Policy Manager, YouTube

4:00 PM - 6:30 PM ET

CLOSED SESSION - NASS Executive Board Meeting
Any NASS Member Secretary/ Lieutenant Governor may attend

Feb 8th


8:00 AM - 9:00 AM ET

Breakfast - 120th NASS Anniversary

8:00 AM - 5:00 PM ET


9:00 AM - 10:00 AM ET

Cybersecurity Committee
Co-Chairs: Hon. Scott Schwab, KS & Hon. Tahesha Way, NJ

Fireside Chats on Cybersecurity and Resilience in 2024:

  • Mr. Tim Langan, Executive Assistant Director for Criminal, Cyber, Response and Services Branch, Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)

  • Mr. Eric Goldstein, Executive Assistant Director for Cybersecurity, Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA)

10:00 AM - 10:15 AM ET

Morning Break

10:15 AM - 11:45 AM ET

Elections Committee
Co-Chairs: Hon. Paul Pate, IA & Hon. Maggie Toulouse Oliver, NM

  • Resolution - NASS Resolution on Principles for Federal Assistance in Funding of Elections

  • What’s in Store for 2024 from the EAC
    Hon. Christy McCormick, Chairwoman, US Election Assistance Commission

  • Addressing Threats via US Mail
    Mr. Brendan Donahue, Assistant Inspector in Charge, US Postal Inspection Service (USPIS)

  • Federal Requirements Coming for State/Local Website and App Accessibility
    Ms. Claire Stanley, Director of Advocacy and Governmental Affairs, American Council for the Blind
    Ms. Michelle Bishop, Voter Access and Engagement Manager, National Disability Rights Network

12:00 PM - 1:15 PM ET

NASS Awards Luncheon Featuring the Posthumous Presentation of the 2023 Margaret Chase Smith American Democracy Award to Laura Wooten

1:30 PM - 3:00 PM ET

Workshop - Artificial Intelligence (AI)

Strategies for Mitigating AI-related Risks

3:00 PM - 3:15 PM ET

Afternoon Break

3:15 PM - 4:15 PM ET

CLOSED SESSION – State Staff Only Meeting

4:15 PM - 5:00 PM ET

CLOSED SESSION – IT State Staff Roundtable

5:15 PM - 6:15 PM ET

Welcome Reception

Feb 9th


8:30 AM - 9:30 AM ET

Breakfast - International Relations Committee
Co-Chairs: Hon. Omar Marrero, PR & Hon. Sarah Copeland Hanzas, VT

  • Hon. Sonia Guzmán Klang, Ambassador of the Dominican Republic

  • Hon. Ramón Martínez de la Guardia, Ambassador of Panama

  • Mr. Daniel Ricchetti, Deputy Special Representative for City and State Diplomacy, U.S. State Department

9:00 AM - 5:00 PM ET


9:30 AM - 10:45 AM ET

Business Services Committee
Co-Chairs: Hon. Jeffrey Bullock, DE & Hon. Michael Howe, ND

  • Overview of NPRM for Accessibility of Web Information and Services of State and Local Government Entities
    Ms. Leslie Reynolds, Executive Director, NASS

  • The Corporate Transparency Act (CTA) – One Month Into Implementation
    Mr. Philip Lam, Beneficial Ownership Operations and Innovation Chief, Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN)
    Mr. Michael Dobson, Senior Advisor, Policy Division, FinCEN

  • Overview of SCORE, Small Biz Issues, How States Can Work with SCORE
    Ms. Bridget Weston, CEO, SCORE

10:45 AM - 11:00 AM ET

Morning Break

11:00 AM - 12:00 PM ET

Workshop: Fostering Relationships with Members of the National Press

  • Mr. Christopher Bing, Reuters

  • Ms. Christina Almeida Cassidy, The Associated Press

  • Mr. Miles Parks, National Public Radio

12:15 PM - 2:15 PM ET

Civics Groups - Boxed Lunch

2:00 PM - 3:00 PM ET

Securities Committee
Co-Chairs: Hon. Diego Morales, IN & Hon. Elaine Marshall, NC

Overview of Federal Legislation and Activity, NASAA 2024 Legislative Priorities

  • Mr. Vince Martinez, General Counsel, North American Securities Administrators Association, NASAA

  • Ms. Kristen Hutchens, Director of Policy and Government Affairs/Policy Counsel, NASAA

2:45 PM - 3:15 PM ET

Afternoon Break

3:00 PM - 4:30 PM ET

CLOSED SESSION - Election Security

How CISA is Working with States to #Protect2024

  • Ms. Caitlin Conley, CISA, Senior Advisor to the Director

  • Hon. Adrian Fontes, Arizona Secretary of State

  • Hon. Paul Pate, Iowa Secretary of State

  • Ms. Susan Lapsley, Election Security Advisor, CISA

  • Mr. Spencer Wood, Election Security Advisor, CISA

Who’s who in the federal government?

  • Ms. Caitlin Conley, CISA, Senior Advisor to the Director

  • Mr. Tyrone Durham, DHS I&A, Senior Election Security Manager

  • Ms. Cynthia Kaiser, FBI, Deputy Assistant Director, Cyber Division

  • Mr. Luke Giannini, FBI, Assistant Section Chief, Counterintelligence Division/Foreign Influence Task Force

  • Ms. Jessica Brandt, ODNI, Director, Foreign

3:30 PM - 4:30 PM ET

CLOSED SESSION: Business Services

Q&A with FinCEN on Corporate Transparency Act

  • Mr. Philip Lam, Beneficial Ownership Operations & Innovation Chief, Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN)

  • Mr. Michael Dobson, Senior Advisor, Policy Division, FinCEN

  • Ms. Molly Jerome, Advisor, FinCEN

  • Ms. Gigi O’Connell, Strategic Communications Advisor, Office of Terrorism and Financial Intelligence, U.S. Department of the Treasury

5:30 PM - 7:00 PM ET

Reception for Secretaries of State & NASS Corporate Affiliates

Feb 10th


8:00 AM - 8:45 AM ET

Breakfast - State Records & Archives Committee
Co-Chairs: Hon. Kimberly Bassett, DC & Hon. Dave Scanlan, NH

Exploring Artificial Intelligence at the National Archives

8:30 AM - 9:30 AM ET

Expo/Demo Tear Down

8:45 AM - 9:45 AM ET

CLOSED SESSION - Secretaries-Only Meeting

9:45 AM - 10:00 AM ET

Morning Break

10:00 AM - 11:30 AM ET

NASS Business Meeting 
Members will vote on business items adopted by NASS committees.

Event Sponsors:

Bluestone Level

Scarlet Oak Level

Red Star Level

In-Kind Contributions