NASS 2023-2024 EIS-GCC Representatives Announced

For Immediate Release
Aug. 3, 2023

Washington, D.C. — The National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) announces new representatives to the Election Infrastructure Subsector Government Coordinating Council (EIS-GCC) for the 2023-2024 term.

“Each of my colleagues brings a wealth of elections experience to this endeavor and will be great assets to the council. I look forward to serving with them on behalf of NASS in this im­portant way, especially as we approach the 2024 election cycle,” said NASS President and Kan­sas Secretary of State Scott Schwab.

New NASS EIS-GCC Representatives and Alternates:

NASS President: Hon. Scott Schwab, Kansas (who also serves on Executive Committee of EIS-GCC)

NASS President-elect: Hon. Steve Simon, Minnesota

NASS Treasurer: Hon. Michael Watson, Mississippi

NASS Immediate Past President: Hon. Tahesha Way, New Jersey

NASS Elections Co-Chair: Hon. Paul Pate, Iowa

NASS Elections Co-Chair: Hon. Maggie Toulouse Oliver, New Mexico

Volunteers: Hon. Phil McGrane, Idaho and Hon. Shenna Bellows, Maine

Alternate Volunteers: Hon. Shirley Weber, California, Hon. Diego Morales, Indiana, Hon. Monae Johnson, South Dakota, and Hon. Sarah Copeland Hanzas, Vermont

The appointees will begin serving on September 1, 2023, until the conclusion of the Summer 2024 EIS-GCC meeting.

The 29 EIS-GCC members, of which 24 are state and local election officials, actively work to­gether to foster efficient communication and collaboration within the election infrastructure com­munity.

Other members include individuals from the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency, Election Center, International Association of Government Officials, Na­tional Association of State Election Directors, and U.S. Election Assistance Commission.

#   #   #

Media Contact:
Maria Benson, Director of Communications | 202-624-3528 |