About the Award

Established in 2011, the NASS IDEAS (Innovation, Dedication, Excellence & Achievement in Service) Award recognizes significant state contributions to the mission of NASS, as well as honors the outstanding programs and achievements of NASS member offices. Nominations are encouraged in all areas of state government programming that is overseen or administered by Secretary of State or Lieutenant Governor offices throughout the U.S.

NASS 2019 IDEAS Award Recipient - Iowa: Partnerships Pay Dividends: A Roadmap to Election Cybersecurity

Pictured L-R: Hon. Jim Condos, Vermont Secretary of State and
Hon. Paul Pate, Iowa Secretary of State with the 2019 IDEAS Award.
Photo Credit: David Martinez

2020 IDEAS Award Finalists

California - VoteSure: A Public Education Campaign Encouraging Voters to be Vigilant of Election Misinformation
Georgia - She Leads GA: Women’s Financial Empowerment
New Hampshire - Amazon Alexa Interface for State of New Hampshire Elections
Tennessee - Patriot Paths, Tennessee's Revolutionary War Veterans

IDEAS Award Recipients

2019: Office of the Iowa Secretary of State, Partnerships Pay Dividends: A Roadmap to Election Cybersecurity

2018: Office of the California Secretary of State, Digital Archives: A Public-Private Partnership with Google

2017: Office of the Arkansas Secretary of State, Gov2Go App

2016: Office of the West Virginia Secretary of State, BIG Map

2015: Office of the Colorado Secretary of State, Business Intelligence Center/Go Code Colorado

2014: Office of the Colorado Secretary of State, Colorado eLearning Program

2013: Office of the Louisiana Secretary of State, GeauxVote Mobile Program

2012: Office of the Nebraska Secretary of State, Online Rules Tracking Application

Nomination & Selection Information

The NASS Awards Committee reviews and evaluates all eligible submissions for the award. The committee may select up to four finalists, with the final award recipient chosen by a vote of the full NASS membership