

Resolution Reaffirming the NASS Position on Funding and Authorization of the U.S. Election Assistance Commission

WHEREAS, the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS), on February 6, 2005, voted to approve a resolution by a substantial majority asking Congress not to reauthorize or fund the U.S. Election Assistance Commission (EAC) after the conclusion of the 2006 federal election, by which date all the states were required to fully implement the mandates of the Help America Vote Act; and

WHEREAS, the 2005 resolution was passed to help prevent the EAC from eventually evolving into a regulatory body, contrary to the spirt of the Help America Vote Act; and WHEREAS, that action was meant to preserve the state' ability to serve as laboratories of change through successful experiments and innovation in election reform; and

WHEREAS, each resolution passed at a NASS conference sunsets after five years unless reauthorized by a vote of the members; and

WHEREAS, the NASS position on funding and authorization of the U.S. Election Assistance Commission was renewed by the membership on July 20, 2010; NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the National Association of Secretaries of State, expressing their continued consistent position in 2015, reaffirm their resolution of 2005 and 2010 and encourage Congress not to reauthorize or fund the U.S. Election Assistance Commission.

Adopted the 12th day of July 2015 in Portland, ME

EXPIRES: Summer 2020



On the motion to adopt the Resolution Reaffirming the NASS Position on Funding and Authorization of the U.S. Election Assistance Commission, the following vote was recorded of members voting in favor of the resolution (Y) and those opposed to the resolution (N). The motion passed with 16 voting in favor, and 12 opposed.

Roll Call Vote:

Hon. John Merrill, AL: Y

Hon. Mark Martin, AR: Y

Hon. Alex Padilla, CA: N

Hon. Wayne Williams, CO: N

Hon. Denise Merrill, CT: N

Hon. Brian Kemp, GA (by proxy): Y

Hon. Connie Lawson, IN: Y

Hon. Paul Pate, IA: Y

Hon. Kris Kobach, KS: Y

Hon. Tom Schedler, LA: Y

Hon. Matt Dunlap, ME: Y

Hon. John Wobensmith, MD: Y

Hon. Steve Simon, MN: N

Hon. Jason Kander, MO (by proxy): N

Hon. Linda McCulloch, MT (by proxy): N

Hon. Barbara Cegavske, NV: Y

Hon. Bill Gardner, NH: Y

Hon. Elaine Marshall, NC: N

Hon. Al Jaeger, ND: Y

Hon. Jon Husted, OH: Y

Hon. Jeanne Atkins, OR: N

Hon. Pedro Cortés, PA: N

Hon. Nellie Gorbea, RI: N

Hon. Tre Hargett, TN: Y

Hon. Carlos Cascos, TX: Y

Hon. Jim Condos, VT: N

Hon. Kim Wyman, WA: Y

Hon. Natalie Tennant, WV: N