

NASS EXECUTIVE BOARD

Hon. Maggie Toulouse Oliver, NM President

Hon. R. Kyle Ardoin, LA President-elect

Hon. Tahesha Way, NJ Treasurer

Hon. Steve Simon, MN Secretary

Hon. Paul Pate, IA Immediate Past President

Hon. Nellie Gorbea, RI Eastern Region Vice President

Hon. John Merrill, AL Southern Region Vice President

Hon. Scott Schwab, KS Midwestern Region Vice President

Hon. Katie Hobbs, AZ Western Region Vice President

Hon. Jim Condos, VT Member-at-Large (ACR)

Hon. Connie Lawson, IN Member -at-Large (NPA) August 7, 2020

The Honorable Louis DeJoy United States Postmaster General 475 L'Enfant Plaza SW Washington, D.C. 20260

Dear Postmaster General DeJoy:

As the President, President-elect and Elections Committee Co-Chairs of the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS), we come together to invite you to participate in a call or virtual meeting with the four of us the week of August 10, 2020, to discuss United States Postal Service (USPS) mail service for the November general election.

NASS is the oldest nonpartisan professional organization for elected officials and 40 of our members serve as their state's chief election official.

State and local election officials are busy planning for the November general election and many expect an increase in the use of absentee and mail ballots, along with other election-related mailings. We view the USPS as a vital partner in administering a safe, successful election and would like to learn more about any planned changes around USPS service due to COVID-19, preparations for increased election-related mail, USPS staffing levels and processing times, and other pertinent issues.

We look forward to having a call with you. Please contact Leslie Reynolds, NASS Executive Director with your schedule availability at 202-624-3526, or reynolds@sso.org. We hope to find a time that works for all of us next week.

Sincerely,



Maggie Soulouse Olin

Hon. Maggie Toulouse Oliver NASS President New Mexico Secretary of State

JacelynBonson

Hon. R. Kyle Ardoin NASS President-elect Louisiana Secretary of State

Fut Johne

13/ 102

Hon. Jocelyn Benson NASS Elections Committee Co-chair Michigan Secretary of State Hon. Frank LaRose NASS Elections Committee Co-chair Ohio Secretary of State