NASS IDEAS Award Finalists Announced

Colorado, South Dakota, Tennessee and Washington Secretary of State Offices Eligible for Consideration for National Innovation Award

For Immediate Release
February 19, 2015

Washington, DC - The National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) announces the selection of four national finalists for the 2015 IDEAS Award, which seeks to recognize innovation, dedication, excellence and achievement in state member programming, as well as significant contributions to NASS.

Finalist results were first revealed to members during the association's annual winter meeting, held last week in Washington, DC.

The finalist programs that are to be considered for the fourth annual IDEAS Award include the following (in alphabetical order by state):

  • Colorado Secretary of State – Business Intelligence Center/Go Code Colorado
  • South Dakota Secretary of State – Innovative Overseas Absentee – Balloting System (iOASIS)
  • Tennessee Secretary of State - Tennessee State Heritage Project 
  • Washington Secretary of State – Washington State Library/Microsoft IT Academy

“NASS members are thrilled that we are once again able to showcase the diverse array of secretary of state office functions through this association award,” noted NASS President Elaine Marshall, who also co-chairs the NASS Awards Committee. “We are looking forward to our summer conference in Maine, where the finalist offices can showcase their innovative approaches to governing, including:  the creative use of open data for business growth and economic development; a new system to revolutionize voting assistance for military and overseas citizens; a unique, multimedia-based statewide public heritage project; and the recruitment of a homegrown, high-tech giant to assist with digital literacy efforts across the state.”   

Finalists for the NASS IDEAS Award are selected following a review and ranking vote by a designated group of peers. State submissions are judged according to their history, significance and effects/results.

Representatives for each of the four finalists will be invited to showcase their innovative state program during a special shared practices panel at this year's annual NASS summer conference, which is taking place from July 9 to July 12 in Portland, Maine.

NASS members will vote to select the national honoree from among the finalists, and the recipient office will be presented with the IDEAS Award during the summer event. 

For more information about the NASS IDEAS Award, click here.

About NASS

Founded in 1904, NASS is the oldest, nonpartisan professional organization of public officials in the U.S. Members include the 50 states, the District of Columbia, American Samoa and Puerto Rico. NASS serves as a medium for the exchange of information between states and fosters cooperation in the development of public policy. The association has key initiatives in the areas of elections and voting, state business services, digital archiving, international relations and state securities regulation, as well as several well-established awards programs. 


Media contact: Kay Stimson 202.624.3528, or