National Association of Secretaries of State Names Kentucky Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes as Southern Region Vice President

For Immediate Release
February 23, 2015

Washington, DC - The National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) today installed Kentucky Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes as Southern Region Vice President.  Grimes steps into the national officer's spot previously held by North Carolina Secretary of State Elaine Marshall, who became NASS President last week. 

According to NASS bylaws, the president of the association must fill a vacancy in the Executive Board by appointing a replacement who is of the same political party as the person who previously held the position.  Both Grimes and Marshall are Democrats.

"We are pleased that Secretary Grimes has accepted the appointment to join the National Association of Secretaries of State Executive Board and help us promote the important issues and policies that are of interest to members," said Marshall.  "She has an excellent reputation for building coalitions and working hard to represent the interests of Kentucky, and we know that she will apply the same leadership approach to representing all of our southern state offices."

As part of her new role as Southern Region Vice President, Grimes is responsible for organizing regional meetings for Secretaries of State who represent southern states. She also serves as the designated liaison for the group. 

“I am tremendously honored to represent the Southern Region on the NASS board,” remarked Grimes. “I look forward to serving and working with the secretaries in the region to highlight the initiatives the southern states are implementing.”

With the appointment of Grimes, the NASS Executive Board now includes the following officers:

President:  Hon. Elaine Marshall, North Carolina
President-elect:  Hon. Tom Schedler, Louisiana
Immediate Past President:  Hon. Tre Hargett, Tennessee
Treasurer:  Hon. Denise Merrill, Connecticut
Secretary:  Hon. Jim Condos, Vermont
Eastern Region Vice-President:  Hon. Matt Dunlap, Maine
Southern Region Vice-President:  Hon. Alison Lundergan Grimes, Kentucky
Midwestern Region Vice-President: Hon. Connie Lawson, Indiana
Western Region Vice-President: Hon. Kim Wyman, Washington
Member-at-Large (ACR Section):  Hon. Jeff Bullock, Delaware
Member-at-Large (NPA Section): Hon. Mark Martin, Arkansas

Along with the rest of the national officers, Grimes will hold her NASS Executive Board position through July 2015.

For more on NASS committees and bylaws, please click here.

About NASS

Founded in 1904, NASS is the oldest, nonpartisan professional organization of public officials in the U.S. Members include the 50 states, the District of Columbia, American Samoa and Puerto Rico. NASS serves as a medium for the exchange of information between states and fosters cooperation in the development of public policy. The association has key initiatives in the areas of elections and voting, state business services, digital archiving, international relations and state securities regulation, as well as several well-established awards programs. 


Media contact: Kay Stimson 202.624.3528, or