NASS Launches Remote Notarization Task Force

For Immediate Release
April 5, 2016 (Updated 11:40 AM ET)

WASHINGTON, DC - Secretaries of State are joining forces with state notary professionals and private-sector notarization experts to announce the formation of the NASS Remote Notarization Task Force.

The task force, which includes representation from 20 states, is dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of the issues and policies surrounding the adoption of remote/video notarizations amongst states.

NASS President and Louisiana Secretary of State Tom Schedler and Kentucky Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes will co-chair the task force's work.

"As digital technology evolves, remote notarizations are taking hold in states like Montana and Virginia, prompting organizations like the Uniform Law Commission to reconsider the long-held notarial principle that 'personal appearance' requires physical presence," noted Schedler. "These potential changes are important to Secretary of State offices, particularly as the NASS National Electronic Notarization Standards are set to expire in July 2016."

"While NASS currently supports e-notarizations for digital documents, our organizational standards still require signers and notaries to be in the same room," added Grimes. "In addition to reviewing the merits of physical presence versus virtual presence, state policymakers must also address the potential validity and interstate recognition of remotely e-notarized documents." 

The NASS task force will review technologies that facilitate remote notarizations, track state activity and develop possible proposals for NASS consideration.

The task force includes the following Secretaries of State:

  • Co-Chair: Louisiana Secretary of State Tom Schedler
  • Co-Chair: Kentucky Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes
  • Arkansas Secretary of State Mark Martin
  • Indiana Secretary of State Connie Lawson
  • Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate (added 04/05/16)
  • Maine Secretary of State Matt Dunlap
  • Maryland Secretary of State John Wobensmith
  • Minnesota Secretary of State Steve Simon
  • Montana Secretary of State Linda McCulloch
  • North Carolina Secretary of State Elaine Marshall
  • North Dakota Secretary of State Al Jaeger
  • Pennsylvania Secretary of State Pedro Cortés
  • Vermont Secretary of State Jim Condos

The task force will solicit input on technology and trends from a group of private sector advisors, including: American Society of NotariesNational Notary AssociationNotarizePennsylvania Association of NotariesSignixSimplifileWells Fargo,  World Wide Notary and American Association of Notaries (added 04/05/16).

A full list of task force members is available on the NASS Remote Notarizations Task Force webpage.

About NASS

Founded in 1904, NASS is the oldest, nonpartisan professional organization of public officials in the U.S. Membership is open to the 50 states and all U.S. territories. NASS serves as a medium for the exchange of information between states and fosters cooperation in the development of public policy. The association has key initiatives in the areas of elections and voting, state business services, digital archiving, international relations and state securities regulation, as well as several well-established awards programs.

NASS also offers two membership sections for state government professionals: Administrative Codes & Registers (ACR) and Notary Public Administrators (NPA). 


Media contact:  Kay Stimson, Dir. of Communications | 202.624.3528 |