

NASS Resolution in Support of Self Determination and Equality for Puerto Rico

WHEREAS, the islands of Puerto Rico have been part of the United States of America, from 1898 to the present day; and,

WHEREAS, Puerto Ricans have been US citizens for more than a century, after the approval, in March of 1917 of the Jones Act, by President Woodrow Wilson; and

WHEREAS, since 1952 Puerto Rico has been governed under a Constitution approved by the people of Puerto Rico which provides for the democratic election of a governor and many other offices but not for representation in Congress or for presidential electors; and

WHEREAS, beginning with Gerald Ford in 1976, a number of U.S. Presidents have supported statehood for Puerto Rico, including Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush, and George W. Bush; and

WHEREAS, on both November 6, 2012, and June 11, 2017, through a legitimate exercise of their right to political self-determination, the people of Puerto Rico voted in favor of statehood; and

WHEREAS, the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) is the nation's oldest, nonpartisan professional organization for public officials, serving as a medium for the exchange of information between states and fostering cooperation in the development of public policy affecting the lives of tens of millions of Americans, including the more than three million Puerto Ricans that reside on the island; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS), that it hereby confirms its support of the Government of Puerto Rico and the Puerto Rican people's efforts towards attaining statehood, as such was the Puerto Rican electorate will expressed through their suffrage on November 6, 2012 and June 11 of 2017.

Resolution Sponsors:

- Hon. Luis Rivera Marín, Puerto Rico (R)
- Hon. Nellie Gorbea, Rhode Island (D)
- Hon. Wayne Williams, Colorado (R)
- Hon. Jim Condos, Vermont (D)

Adopted the 19th day of February, 2018 in Washington, DC

Expires: Winter 2023