

NASS Resolution In Support of Taiwan's Participation as an Observer in the International Civil Aviation Organization

WHEREAS, civil aviation plays a pivotal role in promoting cultural exchange, business, trade, and tourism; and

WHEREAS, the development of international civil aviation in a safe and orderly manner is the supreme cause of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), one of the United Nation's specialized agencies; and

WHEREAS, with an excellent geographic location, Taiwan is a key aviation hub in East Asia; and

WHEREAS, the Taipei Flight Information Region (FIR), bordering the FIRs of Fukuoka, Manila, Hong Kong, and Shanghai, includes 14 international airways and 4 domestic airways, providing services for more than 1.3 million flights per year; and

WHEREAS, each year, 40 million travelers enter, leave, or pass through the Taipei FIR, making Taiwan a key part of air navigation in East Asia; and

WHEREAS, every week, Taiwan has roughly 150 scheduled flights to and from Europe, 400 to and from the US, 660 to and from Japan and over 1,200 across the Taiwan Strait. Taiwan is connected to 117 cities around the globe via 181 air passenger routes and 86 air freight routes; and

WHEREAS, in 2010, the number of international passengers at Taiwan's largest airport - Taoyuan International Airport--ranks 16th worldwide, while international cargo ranks 9th, making Taiwan one of the busiest airspaces in the world; and

WHEREAS, without Taiwan's participation, international flight plans, regulations, and procedure that the ICAO formulates will be incomplete and unsafe; and

WHEREAS, Taiwan's request to participate in the ICAO is fully in line with the United States government's policy of supporting Taiwan's meaningful participation in United Nation's specialized agencies;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the National Association of Secretaries of Secretaries (NASS) supports Taiwan's participation in the ICAO as an observer; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the copies of this resolution be sent to the United States Secretary of State, and the United States Secretary of Transportation.

Adopted the 21st day of July, 2013 in Anchorage, AK

EXPIRES: Summer 2018