facebookicon  twittericon  rssfeedsmall   Careers | Contact Us

NASS Appoints Secretaries of State to Federal Election Infrastructure Cybersecurity Working Group

For Immediate Release
August 31, 2016

WASHINGTON, DC - The National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS), a nonpartisan professional association representing the nation's chief state election officials, today announced the advisory appointments of four Secretaries of State to the Department of Homeland Security's Election Infrastructure Cybersecurity Working Group:

  • Hon. Denise Merrill, Connecticut
    NASS President

  • Hon. Connie Lawson, Indiana
    NASS President-elect

  • Hon. Alex Padilla, California
    NASS Elections Committee Co-Chair

  • Hon. Brian Kemp, Georgia
    NASS Elections Committee Co-Chair

According to DHS, the federal effort is designed to assist states in managing the cybersecurity risks to election and voting systems, in coordination with the U.S. Election Assistance Commission, the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the U.S. Department of Justice.

The working group will also share and disseminate cybersecurity best practices and solicit input on cybersecurity challenges facing state and local election officials and their voting infrastructure, with the goal of helping DHS determine how it can better provide assistance.

"Secretaries of State are committed to working with our federal partners to increase awareness of federal government cybersecurity resources and services that are available to election officials," said NASS President Denise W. Merrill, Connecticut Secretary of the State. "We look forward to sharing state best practices and technical advice that will strengthen understanding and collaboration between state and federal agencies."


Founded in 1904, NASS is the oldest, nonpartisan professional organization of public officials in the U.S. Membership is open to the 50 states and all U.S. territories. NASS serves as a medium for the exchange of information between states and fosters cooperation in the development of public policy.

NASS Elections Committee is co-chaired by California Secretary of State Alex Padilla and Georgia Secretary of State Brian Kemp. The committee is dedicated to educating and informing members about state election administration practices and laws, as well as tracking proposed federal legislation and the activities of other federal government entities. 

MEDIA CONTACT:  Kay Stimson, Dir. of Communications | 202.624.3528 |This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Follow Us


Contact: Kay Stimson, NASS Director of Communications
202-624-3528 | [email protected]


twittericon@NASSorg is the official Twitter account for the association and #NASScon is the official hashtag for conferences.


facebookiconNASS on Facebook will provide the latest conference info and more.

Conference App

MyEvents2Go is a free app available for Android, Apple and Windows operating systems.
Use NASS17W in app to find info for the NASS Winter 2017 Conference.

Login Form