facebookicon  twittericon  rssfeedsmall   About | Careers | Contact 

Secretaries of State Call for Federal Assistance in Maintaining Voter Registration Lists, Declare September 25th National Voter Registration Day at 95th Annual NASS Summer Conference

Washington, DC– Nearly 30 Secretaries of State and Lieutenant Governors gathered last week in San Juan, Puerto Rico, for the 95th annual summer meeting of the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS), which focused on policy issues and programs of mutual interest to members.  The four-day event featured welcoming remarks from Puerto Rico Secretary of State Kenneth McClintock, as well as various other senior officials representing the Puerto Rico Department of State. 

Highlights from the conference include the following:

Policy Resolutions:  Members adopted four resolutions at this meeting, as follows:

National Officers:  Nevada Secretary of State Ross J. Miller was inducted as NASS President for the 2012-2013 cycle, along with the association's new slate of executive officers for the coming year:

President: Hon. Ross J. Miller, Nevada
President-Elect: Hon. Tre Hargett, Tennessee
Immediate Past President: Hon. Beth Chapman, Alabama
Treasurer: Hon. Kate Brown, Oregon
Secretary: Hon. Elaine Marshall, North Carolina
Eastern Region Vice President: Hon. Jeffrey Bullock, Delaware 
Southern Region Vice President: Hon. Brian Kemp, Georgia
Midwestern Region Vice President: Hon. Jon Husted, Ohio
Western Region Vice President: Hon. Linda McCulloch, Montana
At Large - ACR Liaison: Hon. Ken Bennett, Arizona
At Large - NPA Liaison: Hon. John McDonough, Maryland

More here

State Shared Practices:  This year's shared practices sessions focused on doing more with less through social media and Web 2.0, pioneering new state election initiatives, creating state civic health initiatives, preparing voters for the 2012 presidential election, cutting red tape in state business filing offices for jobs and economic growth and making Secretary of State offices more innovative and efficient.  NOTE:  For air-ready Video News Releases (VNRs) featuring Secretaries of State and Lieutenant Governors discussing important state topics discussed at the conference, click here.

Workshops/Speakers:  Conference speakers represented a diverse array of public and private sector entities, including The Pew Center on the States, the University of Minnesota's Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's SAVE Program, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Protection and Programs Directorate, the U.S. Department of State Passport Services Division, the U.S. Department of Commerce Travel and Tourism Advisory Board, NBCUniversal and Thumbtack.com.  To see full conference agenda, click here.

2012 NASS IDEAS Award:  This was the first annual presentation of the NASS IDEAS Award, created to recognize innovation, dedication, excellence and achievement in service in state member programming, as well as significant contributions to the mission of NASS.  State offices recognized include the following:

NASS members also voted to present this year's Margaret Chase Smith American Democracy Award to victims' rights advocate and "America's Most Wanted" television show host/creator John Walsh.  Walsh will be invited to receive the honor at the NASS 2013 Winter Meeting in Washington, DC. More

Corporate Affiliate White Papers:  Each year, NASS corporate affiliate members are asked to submit white papers that showcase their valuable expertise to members.  The following submissions were received:

More information on the NASS 2012 Summer Conference can be found at www.nass.org

About NASS

Founded in 1904, the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) is the nation's oldest, nonpartisan professional organization for state officials.  Members included the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and American Samoa.  NASS serves as a medium for the exchange of information between states and fosters cooperation in the development of public policy.  The association has key initiatives in the areas of elections and voting, state business services, and digital archiving, as well as several well-established awards programs.


Media Contact

Kay Stimson 202.624.3528, or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Login Form